Movie I dig 026: Gadjo Dilo (The crazy stranger) (1997)

Gadjo Dilo was the first Tony Gatlif movie I saw. It immediately made Tony Gatlif on of my favorite directors. I could tell you all about the story or the setting of this film, but I don’t think one should know anything at all about it, before watching it. It is a movie that one should just watch. Sit back, relax and put it on. You won’t regret.

To me it was like seeing a different way of life – that I probably would have probably disliked otherwise. Gatlif is a master at making a lifestyle that seems dirty, lazy and poor  – to most westerners – look like an ode to a vibrant and positive-minded life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

